ChiOneWednesday

A group of writers in Chichester coming together once a month for inspiration, collaboration and sensation

Address to a Woodlousey

 

 

 

 

 

Yer a wee humble hing

wha moves wi oot clatter or ding
But ae yer praises
ah’ll sing
wee woodlousey.

Ah’m sorry ma wee freend
thit ah washed ye awa
and wis sae careless tae hae deemed
ye no weilcome in ma company.

Yer wee bittie shawn awareness
an easy kin be seen in ye
Darwin’s process.
Aye, yer jist trauchlan alang like me.

Confusion an urgency pushes us forrid
tae try tae make guid o oor blessin’s
and tak the best oot fae whits horrid.

Ah Jyne in the circle o’ life,
Tis sympathy whit pulls us thegither
and we’re ae destined tae be divided, when oor herts caldrife.

In that auld phrase
“We’re aw Jock tamsons bairns”
biggit fae the same stuff, sin the earliest days.

We shidnae be hateful ,fu e spite
insteid we should honour oor unity
and try tae dae whits right.

***

In English:-

Your a wee humble thing

who moves without clatter or bang/knock/noise

but always your praises

I’ll sing

wee Woodlousey.

I’m sorry my wee friend

that I had washed you away

and was so careless to have deemed

you not welcome in my company.

your wee bit of shown awareness

and easy can be seen in you

Darwin’s process.

yes, your just trudging/dragging yourself along  along like me.

confusion and urgency pushes us forward

to try to make good of our blessings

and take the best out from what’s horrid.

I join in the circle of life

Tis sympathy what pulls us together

and  we’re always destined to be divided, when our hearts cold/indifferent.

In that old phrase

we’re all Jock tamsons children ( which is a scottish proverb meaning something like we’re all alike.At one time this would’ve meant we’re all god’s children)

built (made) from the same stuff since the earliest days.

we shouldn’t be hateful, full of spite

instead we should  honour our unity

and try to do what’s right.

4 comments on “Address to a Woodlousey

  1. helenjbeal
    July 22, 2012

    So lovely. An absolute favourite of mine – AND I prefer to read in Scots. 🙂

  2. mauledbypuma
    July 22, 2012

    Totally agree that I prefer the Scots version although the English part was useful.

  3. Peronius
    July 22, 2012

    A beautiful little gem of a poem – like the woodlousy itself. Such a simple idea, but it works so well. I echo the previous sentiments expressed that it is much nicer in the original Scots, although the English translation was of great benefit, especially for the explanation of Jock tamson’s bairns. This is my favorite of your three recent postings.

  4. scottf321
    July 22, 2012

    Thanks 🙂 It’s definately one of my favourite scots poems that I’ve written, it’s words return to me again and again and I am proudly in favour of what I’m expressing. I like the fact it feels like Burns but modern.

Say something!

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2012 by in Poetry and tagged , , .
